Forums Spiritual Theology 4.1: God of the Oppressed Reply To: 4.1: God of the Oppressed

• Anonymous

Deleted User
    December 3, 2020 at 9:44 am

In God of the Oppressed, James Cone boils down the “right questions” to one basic question: “What has the gospel to do with the oppressed of the land and their struggle for liberation? Any theologian who fails to place that question at the center of his or her work has ignored the essence of the gospel” (9)

This is a question that I have been asking for many years, maybe since I became a Christian which is what does the Gospel of Jesus Christ have to offer to people, to my parents, to my family, to my Taiwanese American community, and to the people of Taiwan? Ethnically Chinese people do not have a hegemonic nor an antagonistic relationship towards Christianity, and Taiwan has less than 5% Christian population, most of whom are aboriginal indigenous people and not ethnically Chinese. I know what Christianity offers to the aboriginal community as a marginalized, oppressed, and colonized group—a sense of identity, worth, and liberation.